The second edition of the SAFA National Women’s League is finally back and will kick off this coming weekend, 24 April 2021, after last year’s tournament did not take place due to the Coronavirus pandemic.

Gv of Action during the 2016 SASOL League Limpopo Regional Finals on the 29 October 2016 at Mahwelereng Stadium Mokopane Pic Sydney Mahlangu/ BackpagePix

The Women’s League that proved a runaway success was launched in 2019 with 12 teams participating in the inaugural season. This season however, will consist of 14 teams following the promotion of 2019 Sasol League National champions JVW from Gauteng and runners up Ma-Indies Ladies from Limpopo.

The rest of the clubs in the expanded league are defending champions Mamelodi Sundowns (Gauteng), Bloemfontein Celtics (Free State), three University teams – Tshwane University of Technology (Gauteng), University of Johannesburg (Gauteng) and the University of the Western Cape (Western Cape), Tsunami Queens (Free State), Thunderbirds (Eastern Cape), Coal City Wizards (Mpumalanga), Durban Ladies (KwaZulu Natal), First Touch Academy (Limpopo), Golden Ladies (North West) and Richmond Ladies (Northern Cape).

Reigning SWNL champions Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies have beefed up their squad by signing seasoned Banyana Banyana defender Bambanani Mbane and KFF Mitrovica, Kosovo players Zanele Nhlapo and Andisiwe Mgcoyi, Regina Mogolola from Red Star Belgrade in Serbia. Exciting midfielder, Thalea Smidt has joined from University of Pretoria with Melinda Kgadieta from Bloemfontein Celtic.

The SWNL will kick off on Saturday 24 April 2021 with matches played every weekend until 14 November 2021.

SABC Sport will broadcast one match each week.

Written by: Diski Voice