Baxter names AFCON squad

Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter has named his final 23-man squad for the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations Egypt 2019 starting 21 June 2019.

Fortune Makaringe, Ben Motshwari and Kermit Erasmus were the unfortunate players left out of the 26-man squad that were in camp prior to the announcement of the final squad.  Keagan Dolly and Rivaldo Coetzee were already missing from camp due to injury and family commitment respectively.

Bafana Bafana will travel to Egypt via Dubai where they will play an international friendly against Ghana.

Full AFCON squad:

Goalkeepers: Darren Keet, Ronwen Williams, Bruce Bvuma

Defenders: Daniel Cardoso, Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Innocent Maela, Thulani Hlatshwayo, Buhle Mkhwanazi, Sifiso Hlanti, Thamsanqa Mkhize

Midfielders: Bongani Zungu, Kamohelo Mokotjo, Dean Furman, Hlompho Kekana, Tiyani Mabunda, Thulani Serero, Thembinkosi Lorch, Themba Zwane

Forwards: Lebo Mothiba, Percy Tau, Lars Veldwijk, Lebogang Maboe, Sibusiso Vilakazi.

Bafana Bafana are in Group D, together with Ivory Coast who they play in their opening Group game, Namibia and Morocco.

Written by: Diski Voice