Ntseki announces Bafana Bafana squad to face Sao Tome


Bafana Bafana head coach Molefi Ntseki has named a squad of 25 players to face Sao Tome e Principe in back-to-back Cameroon 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers.

The home game is scheduled for 27/28 March 2020 at FNB stadium while the return match is scheduled four days later away in Sao Tome.

Ntseki has made as many as nine changes to the squad that faced Ghana and Sudan in the last qualifiers in November last year.

Itumeleng Khune, Andile Jali, Thabo Matlaba and George Maluleka return to the Bafana Bafana squad after a long absence.

Coach Ntseki said he is going for six points in these two games.


“These two matches are very crucial for us – we are gunning for six points, nothing less, as this will put us up there within qualifying distance. We have absolutely no choice but to go for a win, and this does not mean we disrespect Sao Tome but we have a job to do and that is to qualify for AFCON 2021.

“What we also need as a country and team is positivity, a lot of faith and a bit of luck – those three ingredients can take us go far. But I am confident with the team we have selected, at the end of this round of matches we will know where we stand in terms of qualifying for Cameroon.” Ntseki said.

Bafana Bafana assemble for camp on Sunday, 22 March 2020 in Johannesburg.


Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Brandon Petersen (Bidvest Wits)

Defenders: Erick Mathoho, Reeve Frosler (Chiefs), Buhle Mkhwanazi, Thulani Hlatshwayo, S’fiso Hlanti (Wits), Gladwin Shitolo (Golden Arrows), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates), Mosa Lebusa (Sundowns), Thabo Matlaba (Black Leopards).

Midfielders: Andile Jali, Themba Zwane (Downs), George Maluleke, Lebogang Manyama (Chiefs), Dean Furman, Teboho Mokoena (SS), Lebogang Phiri (Guigamp), Thembinkosi Lorch (Pirates), Percy Tau (Club Brugge), Thulani Serero (Al Jazira).

Written by: Diski Voice