Ellis names squad for Women’s AFCON


Banyana Banyana coach Desiree Ellis has named a strong squad of 21 players for the 2018 Africa Women Cup of Nations tournament.

The African Women Cup of Nations will be hosted by Ghana from 17 November to 1 December and will be used as a 2019 FIFA Women World Cup qualifier. The top three nations in Ghana will represent the continent at the next World Cup in France.

Ellis has selected an experienced squad that has been together for a while and have taken part in the Women’s AFCON tournament before apart from two uncapped players in Amanda Mthandi (University of Johannesburg) and Tiisetso Makhubela (Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies).

Banyana have been drawn in Group B with defending champions Nigeria, Kenya and Zambia. Banyana will open their account against Nigeria on 18 November, followed by an encounter against Kenya on 21 November) before facing Zambia in the last group match on 24 November.

Banyana Banyana full squad:

Goalkeepers: Kaylin Swart (Menlo College), Roxanne Barker (UWC),  Andile Dlamini (Mamelodi Sundowns).

Defenders: Lebogang Ramalepe (Ma-Indies FC), Nothando Vilakazi (Palace Super Falcons FC), Janine Van Wyk (JVW FC), Noko Matlou (Ma-Indies FC), Bambanani Mbane (Bloem Celtic), Tiisetso Makhubela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Koketso Tlailane (TUT).

Midfielders: Kgaelebane Mohlakoana (Mamelodi Sundowns), Mamello Makhabane (JVW FC), Leandra Smeda (Gintra Universitetas, Lithuania), Nompumelelo Nyandeni (JVW FC), Linda Motlhalo (Houston Dash,USA), Busisiwe Ndimeni (TUT), Refiloe Jane (Canberra United, Australia).

Strikers: Jermaine Seoposenwe (JVW FC), Thembi Kgatlana (Houston Dash,USA), Melinda Kgadiete (Bloem Celtic), Amanda Mthandi (UJ).

Written by: Diski Voice