Last season’s Top 8 teams seeded for TKO draw


The Premier Soccer League (PSL) has confirmed that the teams that finished in the top eight last season will be seeded for the 2017/18 Telkom Knockout last 16 draw.

The draw will be conducted today (Monday), 16 October 2017 at 13h00 at the Wanderers Club in Johannesburg.

There is a potential of a “big” game upfront as Orlando Pirates will be one of the unseeded teams after finishing outside the top eight last season.

The Draw Procedure:
– Three bowls will be used for the draw (labelled: Pot A, B, C)
– The first bowl (Pot A) will contain the seeded eight clubs – (clubs that finished inside the top eight during the 2017/18 season)
– The second bowl (Pot C) will contain the names of the other eight clubs.
– The third bowl (Pot B) will be empty – to be used to determine home and away

How it will work:

1. We draw a ball from the seeded bowl (Pot A) and place it in the empty bowl (Pot B) without opening it
2. We draw a ball from the unseeded bowl (Pot C) and place it in the empty bowl (Pot B) without opening it
3. We then draw go to Pot B and draw the first ball for home, the second ball for away

Written by: Diski Voice