Baxter Names Squad For Nigeria


Bafana Bafana head coach Stuart Baxter has named his first squad to face Nigeria in the opening match of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers. The squad was announced today at a press conference held at SAFA house.

The match will be played on Saturday, 10 June 2017 at Godswill Akpabio International Stadium in Uyo State, Nigeria. Kickoff is at 17h00.

Aubrey Ngoma of Cape Town City is the only new name from the squads that were selected by his predecessor for the last couple of matches.

Baxter said he was pleased with the squad as it has a good mix of development and continuity.

“I am quite pleased with the squad we have assembled. We have a small element of development with a couple of young players. We also have some players who are returning to the squad, the likes of Zungu and Rantie.

“We have players who have been outstanding in the PSL the whole season, we also have continuity with a number of players that SAFA has invested much time in and we have them in the team. I believe we have a good mix.

“We have also looked at aerial strength and tried to spread that well throughout the team, it means if we can have good preparation before we go, then we have a squad that is capable of giving Nigeria a good game,” said Baxter.

Baxer’s men assemble for camp on Sunday, 4 June before Jetting off to Nigeria on Wednesday, 7 June.

Full Squad:
1. Itumeleng Khune Kaizer Chief FC
2. Darren Keet Bidvest Wits FC
3. Ronwen Williams Supersport United FC

4. Ramahlwe Mphahlele Kaizer Chiefs FC
5. Rivaldo Coetzee Ajax Cape Town FC
6. Thulani Hlatshwayo Bidvest Wits FC
7. Erick Mathoho Kaizer Chiefs FC
8. Lorenzo Gordinho Kaizer Chiefs FC
9. Abbubaker Mobara Orlando Pirates FC
10. Tebogo Langerman Mamelodi Sundowns FC
11. Sifiso Hlanti Bidvest Wits FC

12. Hlompho KekanA Mamelodi Sundowns FC
13. Keagan Dolly Montpellier (France)
14. Andle JALI KV Oostende FC (Belgium)
15. Kamohelo MOkotjo FC Twente (Netherlands)
16. Dean Furman Supersport United FC
17. Themba Zwane Mamelodi Sundowns FC
18. Bongani Zungu Vitoria Guimares (Portugal)
19. Aubrey Ngoma Cape Town City FC

20. Sibusiso Vilakazi Mamelodi Sundowns FC
21. Percy Tau Mamelodi Sundowns FC
22. Lebohang Manyama Cape Town City FC
23. Tokelo Rantie Genclerbirligi FC (Turkey)
24. Thamsanqa Gabuza Orlando Pirates FC
25. Kermit Erasmus Lens (France)

Written by: Diski Voice