Manyama Wins Big At The PSL Awards!

Lebogang Manyama, who was nominated for four awards, walked away with three awards including the coveted 2016/17 Premier Soccer League Footballer of the Season.

Manyama also went home with the Absa Premiership Player’s Player of the Season (voted by players from 16 clubs in the Premier Division) and the Absa Premiership Top Goalscorer after scoring 13 goals. The PSL Footballer of the Season is voted by the 16 coaches in the Premier Division.

Absa Premiership Champions Bidvest Wits enjoyed a great night with Gavin Hunt walking away with the Absa Premiership Coach of the Season, keeper Darren Keet collected the Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season, captain Thulani Hlatshwayo won the Absa Premiership Defender of the Season and Phakamani Mahlambi won the Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season. Daine Klate was voted as the MTN8 Last Man Standing.

Cape Town City’s currently injured midfielder Aubrey Ngoma had to hobble to the stage twice to collect the Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament and Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season.

Orlando Pirates’ Abbubaker Mobara was a surprise winner of the Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament considering that Supersport United won the tournament after comprehensively beating Pirates in the final.

Lamontville Golden Arrows’ Nduduzo Sibiya took the Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player.

In what was arguably the biggest surprise of the night, Kaizer Chiefs’ Siphiwe Tshabalala won the Absa-lutely Awesome Goal of the Season award for his goal against SuperSport United ahead of Baroka keeper Oscarine Masuluke, who was expected to win the award for his spectacular bicycle kick goal against Pirates.

Written by: Diski Voice