Shakes names squad for AFCON qualifier and Mandela Challenge


Bafana Bafana coach Ephraim Shakes Mashaba has announced a squad of 25 players to face Mauritania in the last match of 2017 Gabon Africa Cup of Nations as well as Egypt in the Nelson Mandela Challenge.


Bafana Bafana play Mauritania in their last 2017 Gabon Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers on Friday, 2 September 2016 at Mbombela Stadium.

Bafana Bafana will then host Egypt in the 22nd edition of the Nelson Mandela Challenge on Tuesday, 6 September 2016 at Orlando Stadium, Soweto.

Mashaba included ten players who represented the under-23s in the 2016 Rio Olympic games in Brazil. The players selected are Deolin Mekoa, Maphosa Modiba, Itumeleng Khune, Rivaldo Coetzee, Thapelo Morena, Keagan Dolly, Abbubaker Mobara and Gift Motupa.

Mashaba expressed concerns about the fact that these matches comes straight after recess of league football.

“It has been very difficult trying to pick the team because most of the players are still busy with pre-season, only a handful have matches under their belts. We had to rely mainly on what the players can do from past experiences. It was a tough call but we had to do it. Fortunately, some clubs have been playing in pre-season cup competitions, which is very encouraging,” said Mashaba.

Bafana Bafana are already out of the race to qualify for Gabon after only one win in five games.

Full squad.


1. Itumeleng Khune Kaizer Chiefs

2. Jackson MABOKGWANE Orlando Pirates

3. Riyaard PIETERSE Supersport United

4. Ramahlwe MPHAHLELE Kaizer Chiefs

5. Rivaldo COETZEE Ajax Cape Town

6. Thulani HLATSHWAYO Bidvest Wits

7. Abbubaker MOBARA Orlando Pirates

8. Sifiso HLANTI Bidvest Wits

9. Tebogo LANGERMAN Mamelodi Sundowns

10. Clayton DANIELS Supersport United

11. Denwin FARMER Supersport United

12. Dean FURMAN Supersport United

13. Andile JALI KV Oostende FC

14. Deolin MEKOA Maritzburg United

15. Mandla MASANGO Randers FC

16. Thapelo MORENA Mamelodi Sundowns

17. Keagan DOLLY Mamelodi Sundowns

18. Maphosa MODIBA Cape Town City

19. Mpho MAKOLA Orlando Pirates

20. Hlompho KEKANA Mamelodi Sundowns

21. Gift MOTUPA Orlando Pirates

22. Thamsanqa GABUZA Orlando Pirates

23. Sibusiso VILAKAZI Mamelodi Sundowns

24. Tokelo RANTIE AFC Bournemouth

25. Prince NXUMALO Ajax Cape Town

Written by: Diski Voice