Ellis announces Banyana squad for AWCON qualifier

Banyana Banyana Head coach Desiree Ellis has announced a squad of 24 players to face Lesotho in the second round of the 2018 Africa Women’s Cup of Nations qualifiers.

The first leg will be played on Wednesday, 6 June at the Setsoto Stadium in Maseru, Lesotho. Kickoff is at 15h00.

Ellis says it will be important to start on a good footing in the 1st leg away in Lesotho.

“This is the start of the Road to the World Cup in France. We have played Lesotho before and even though we beat them, this is a new game and a different occasion. Victory will get us to the 2018 AWCON in Ghana, but we are all aware that no game is as easy as it seems and we have to be on top of our game to get a positive result in the first leg. We need to start on a good footing so we can finish the business at home,” said Ellis.

Ellis added that none of the overseas-based players were not called up to give them opportunity to settle in their clubs.

“We have mixed the squad with a bit of youth and experience. We were fortunate to attend a USSA Selection trials in Cape Town recently, and also watched all the Sasol teams in Gauteng on Saturday (19 May) and also had National selection trials the next day. We also allowing the overseas based players to settle in at their clubs and this gives us an opportunity for other players to raise their hands,” added Ellis.

The return match will take place at a venue still to be confirmed on Sunday, 10 June.

Full squad:

1. Andile Dhlamini        Mamelodi Sundowns    Pretoria
2. Mapaseka Mpuru      TUKS                           Johannesburg
3. Roxanne Barker        UWC Ladies                 Cape Town
4. Yolula Tsawe             JVW FC                       Johannesburg

5. Lebogang Ramalepe  Maindis FC                    Polokwane
6. Nothando Vilakazi     Palace Super Falcons     Johannesburg
7. Zanele Nhlapho         Mamelodi Sundowns      Pretoria
8. Bambanani Mbane     Bloemfontein Celtic       Bloemfontein
9. Regina Mogolola        TUKS                           Pretoria
10. Karabo Dhlamini      Mamelodi Sundowns     Johannesburg
11. Thato Letsoso          UJ                               Johannesburg

12. Kgaelebane Mohlakoana Bloemfontein Celtic Bloemfontein
13. Rachel Sebati                TUT-PTA                 Pretoria
14.Mamello Makhabane       JVW FC                   Johannesburg
15.Refiloe Jane                   TUT-PTA                  Pretoria
16.Leandra Smeda              UWC Ladies             Cape Town
17.Nompumelelo Nyandeni  JVW FC                    Johannesburg
18. Hilda Magaia                 TUT-PTA                  Johannesburg
19. Gabriela Salgado           JVW FC                   Johannesburg

20.Jermaine Seoposenwe   UWC Ladies              Cape Town
21. Melinda Kgadiete         Bloemfontein Celtic    Bloemfontein
22. Chantelle Esau            Mamelodi Sundowns   Pretoria
23.Khanya Xesi                 UWC Ladies               Cape Town
24.Noko Matlou                 Ma-Indies                  Polokwane

Written by: Diski Voice